NCAC Awards

NCAC Awards

Nominations for NCAC awards are held in the Spring.

National Capital Area Chapter Award for Outstanding Public Service

Criteria: Must be a member of ASPA and NCAC for five consecutive years and demonstrate a life of service to the public sector, public organizations, and the public at large. 

Nominating Process: Any NCAC member can nominate public servants for this award. A selection committee made of three to five NCAC members, selected each year by the current NCAC President, will select the most outstanding public servant from those nominated and whom qualify based on the above criteria.

Presentation: The National Capital Area Chapter Award for Outstanding Public Service will be presented at the Chapter’s annual business meeting.

The Frances Kelsey Award

The award is named for Dr. Frances Kelsey, a U.S. Food and Drug Administration employee who resisted pressure to approve Thalidomide, and thus prevented countless birth defects.

Frances Kelsey, FDA Officer Who Blocked Thalidomide, Dies At 101: 

She stood between a dangerous drug and a generation of American babies:

Criteria: A person who has demonstrated courage in promoting the public interest while employed in government, contractors or grantees. 

Nominating Process: The NCAC Board will appoint a selection committee, who will solicit nominations from NCAC members and select an awardee. In selecting an awardee, the selection committee may consider whether a nominee is likely to accept the award in person and speak at NCAC’s annual meeting.

Presentation: Presented at NCAC’s annual membership meeting.